ICC Women’s World Twenty20

CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 100

The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 is the biannual international championship for women’s Twenty20 International cricket. The event is organised by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), with the first edition being held in England in 2009. For the first three tournaments, there were eight participants, but this number has been raised to ten from the 2014 edition onwards. At each tournament, a set number of teams qualify automatically, with the remaining teams determined by the World Twenty20 Qualifier. Australia are the most successful team at the World Twenty20, having won three tournaments, while the most recent tournament in 2016 was won by the West Indies.

MUMBAI, INDIA - FEBRUARY 16: Merissa Aguilleira, captain of West Indies and Jodie Fields, captain of Australia holding the trophy at the Cricket Club of India ground ahead of tomorrows ICC Womens World Cup Final between Australia and West Indies on February 16, 2013 in Mumbai, India. (Photo by Graham Crouch/ICC via Getty Images)

Australia Get the title of Champion 3 times, England and West Indies once.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s